Questions related to gtkdialog

For discussions about programming, and for programming questions and advice


Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
user1234
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2022 5:48 am
Location: Somewhere on earth
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by user1234 »

I have few questions related to gtkdialog-

  • How can I export variables to shell so that they remain there for any program to be used as well as stay there after gtkdialog has been closed (i.e. do not get removed until I manually remove them using unset)?

  • How can I refresh already loaded gtkdialog window (or a tab) if I have changed $MAIN_DIALOG after running gtkdialog?

PuppyLinux 🐾 gives new life to old computers ✨

HerrBert
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 6:14 pm
Location: Germany, NRW
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 114 times

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by HerrBert »

1. export MAIN_DIALOG and use eval $(gtkdialog -p MAIN_DIALOG)

2. when running gtkdialog your code is already exported to the shell, so it is not possible to apply changes

User avatar
user1234
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2022 5:48 am
Location: Somewhere on earth
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by user1234 »

HerrBert wrote: Tue Nov 08, 2022 8:45 am

2. when running gtkdialog your code is already exported to the shell, so it is not possible to apply changes

Is it possible that I update the contents of a single tab then?

I mean, I am making a program in which radiobuttons are there on each tab, and I need to update each radio button as a different radio button on the previous tab is selected. How can I do that?

Also I am exporting the variables as-

Code: Select all

<action>export foo="bar"</actions>

But when I try to access the variable after gtkdialog has closed, the variable will be in the same state as was before gtkdialog call.

PuppyLinux 🐾 gives new life to old computers ✨

User avatar
user1234
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2022 5:48 am
Location: Somewhere on earth
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by user1234 »

I don't think exporting variables using export might work. I can think this as of a disability of gtkdialog, because it can not export variables. I can think of the C/C++ program running behind the scenes and maybe making a call to system(). And if I remember correctly, then running system("export foo=\"bar\"); does nothing to the environment variables in particular. So the option left now is just using files instead of environment variables.

PuppyLinux 🐾 gives new life to old computers ✨

HerrBert
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 6:14 pm
Location: Germany, NRW
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 114 times

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by HerrBert »

eval can export gtkdialog variables:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash

export MAIN_DIALOG="
<window>
<vbox>
 <notebook>
  <frame remote:>
    <radiobutton>
     <variable>RADIO1</variable>
     <default>true</default>
     <action>activate:RADIO3</action>
    </radiobutton>   
    <radiobutton>
     <variable>RADIO2</variable>
     <action>activate:RADIO4</action>
    </radiobutton>   
  </frame>
  <frame receiver:>
    <radiobutton>
     <variable>RADIO3</variable>
    </radiobutton>   
    <radiobutton>
     <variable>RADIO4</variable>
    </radiobutton>   
  </frame>
 </notebook>
  <hbox>
    <button ok>
    </button>
  </hbox>
</vbox>
</window>
"

eval $(gtkdialog -p MAIN_DIALOG)

echo $RADIO{1..4}
User avatar
user1234
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2022 5:48 am
Location: Somewhere on earth
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by user1234 »

HerrBert wrote: Tue Nov 08, 2022 12:03 pm

eval can export gtkdialog variables:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash

export MAIN_DIALOG="
<window>
<vbox>
 <notebook>
  <frame remote:>
    <radiobutton>
     <variable>RADIO1</variable>
     <default>true</default>
     <action>activate:RADIO3</action>
    </radiobutton>   
    <radiobutton>
     <variable>RADIO2</variable>
     <action>activate:RADIO4</action>
    </radiobutton>   
  </frame>
  <frame receiver:>
    <radiobutton>
     <variable>RADIO3</variable>
    </radiobutton>   
    <radiobutton>
     <variable>RADIO4</variable>
    </radiobutton>   
  </frame>
 </notebook>
  <hbox>
    <button ok>
    </button>
  </hbox>
</vbox>
</window>
"

eval $(gtkdialog -p MAIN_DIALOG)

echo $RADIO{1..4}

But the variables I want are not just variables of radiobuttons, which can either be true or false, but those kind of variables which bash can export (like strings and numbers).

But I think I am leaving the use of gtkdialog for this project, since the program I want must not be static, the radiobuttons may change with their content and their numbers may change as well, and since there is no way to refresh gtkdialog window, there is no way I could achieve what I want with gtkdialog.

Is there any other program capable if doing this (tabs, inputs using radiobuttons, running specific commands in specific signals, etc.) all in shell/bash scripting?

PuppyLinux 🐾 gives new life to old computers ✨

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 2671
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: holland
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 1053 times
Contact:

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by fredx181 »

HerrBert wrote:

eval can export gtkdialog variables:

It can, but strange things can happen by using eval (depending on the complexity of the script perhaps).
There are other ways, more complicated to do, but safe.
(can't remember how atm, needs some investigation).

User avatar
user1234
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2022 5:48 am
Location: Somewhere on earth
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by user1234 »

fredx181 wrote: Tue Nov 08, 2022 3:08 pm
HerrBert wrote:

eval can export gtkdialog variables:

It can, but strange things can happen by using eval (depending on the complexity of the script perhaps).
There are other ways, more complicated to do, but safe.
(can't remember how atm, needs some investigation).

fred, I think I could just use files to save the data, just that it would increase the complexity of program. The major problem is reloading of content, that too when I have created the program in a way which (tries to) export the MAIN_DIALOG variable from inside the content (seems completely impossible). Is there a way I could do that? Maybe keeping MAIN_DIALOG in a file and then exporting MAIN_DIALOG (or if gtkdialog could, then make it directly read from the file). But even then, I do not know if gtkdialog will actually update its contents.

PuppyLinux 🐾 gives new life to old computers ✨

User avatar
JakeSFR
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2020 2:23 pm
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by JakeSFR »

You can update (refresh) the contents of some individual widgets, like <entry> or <tree>, but not widgets themselves, in the sense of replacing them.
Unless you prepare the (hidden) parts of GUI beforehand and then show them (hiding the previous ones) on user action, or something like that.
But it would be pseudo-dynamic, probably not what you actually want.

Also, you can't export a variable to a parent shell, only to a child one.
Otherwise scripts would be able to modify environmental variables (e.g. LANG) on a system level.

The eval $(gtkdialog -p MAIN_DIALOG) method is the way it's always been done in Gtkdialog apps.
Just be wary that in case when the content of a variable is unknown (e.g. user's input) you should process it manually:

Code: Select all

for STATEMENT in $(gtkdialog -p MAIN_DIALOG); do
	if [[ "$STATEMENT" == "PASSWORD="* ]]; then
		PASSWORD="$(echo $STATEMENT | cut -f2- -d '"' | rev | cut -f2- -d '"' | rev)"
	else
		eval $STATEMENT
	fi
done

because eval may not be able to handle some special characters, like single quotes:

Code: Select all

# eval a="a'b"
sh: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `''
sh: syntax error: unexpected end of file

Not to mention code execution: eval a="`geany`".

Greetings!

[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 1142
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:25 am
Location: Japan
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 374 times

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by MochiMoppel »

user1234 wrote: Tue Nov 08, 2022 4:08 pm

The major problem is reloading of content, that too when I have created the program in a way which (tries to) export the MAIN_DIALOG variable from inside the content (seems completely impossible). Is there a way I could do that? Maybe keeping MAIN_DIALOG in a file and then exporting MAIN_DIALOG (or if gtkdialog could, then make it directly read from the file). But even then, I do not know if gtkdialog will actually update its contents.

I'm not sure if this is what you mean:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
function add_button {
	RB='<radiobutton><\/radiobutton>'
	sed -i "/<radio/ s/.*/&$RB/" /tmp/testo
};export -f add_button

echo '<window>
<vbox>
	<radiobutton></radiobutton>
	<button label="Add radiobutton">
		<action>add_button</action>
		<action>exit:RELOAD</action>
	</button>
	<button ok></button>
</vbox>
</window>' > /tmp/testo

while : ;do
	eval $(gtkdialog -cf /tmp/testo)
	[[ $EXIT != RELOAD ]] && break
done

It changes the code from within gtkdialog but has to reload the code in order to see the changes.
In any case, it's an ugly solution.

Sometimes if helps to take a pause and look at the tools available.
<radiobutton>s let the user pick an option. Options can not be changed dynamically
A <tree> lets the user pick an option. Options can be changed dynamically
So does it really have to be radiobuttons?

User avatar
user1234
Posts: 413
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2022 5:48 am
Location: Somewhere on earth
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Re: Questions related to gtkdialog

Post by user1234 »

MochiMoppel wrote: Wed Nov 09, 2022 8:53 am
user1234 wrote: Tue Nov 08, 2022 4:08 pm

The major problem is reloading of content, that too when I have created the program in a way which (tries to) export the MAIN_DIALOG variable from inside the content (seems completely impossible). Is there a way I could do that? Maybe keeping MAIN_DIALOG in a file and then exporting MAIN_DIALOG (or if gtkdialog could, then make it directly read from the file). But even then, I do not know if gtkdialog will actually update its contents.

I'm not sure if this is what you mean:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
function add_button {
	RB='<radiobutton><\/radiobutton>'
	sed -i "/<radio/ s/.*/&$RB/" /tmp/testo
};export -f add_button

echo '<window>
<vbox>
	<radiobutton></radiobutton>
	<button label="Add radiobutton">
		<action>add_button</action>
		<action>exit:RELOAD</action>
	</button>
	<button ok></button>
</vbox>
</window>' > /tmp/testo

while : ;do
	eval $(gtkdialog -cf /tmp/testo)
	[[ $EXIT != RELOAD ]] && break
done

It changes the code from within gtkdialog but has to reload the code in order to see the changes.
In any case, it's an ugly solution.

Sometimes if helps to take a pause and look at the tools available.
<radiobutton>s let the user pick an option. Options can not be changed dynamically
A <tree> lets the user pick an option. Options can be changed dynamically
So does it really have to be radiobuttons?

Don't know particularly what <tree>s are. What I wanted to give the user is the option to choose from the directories listed in a hierarchy. The first tab contained directories of top level hierarchy, the second one for the second level and the third one for the third level. Now, not each directory contained same number of directories, so there was no way that <radiobutton>s could be taken as pre-defined.

I resolved 'went around' the problem by listing the directories as foo/bar/foobar instead of having 3 different tabs to contain foo, bar and foobar.

PuppyLinux 🐾 gives new life to old computers ✨

Post Reply

Return to “Programming”