Problem using grsync over network <SOLVED>

a very small Live CD shaped to look and act like Puppy Linux.

Moderator: fredx181

Post Reply
dcung
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 4:31 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Problem using grsync over network <SOLVED>

Post by dcung »

I'd like to use Grsync to copy/backup between 2 computers over network.
For this test, I'm using Bullseye DDog (latest build - made 3 days ago).

My limited reading/research indicated that it is possible (?)
eg.
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=795668
(Except I use ssh instead of OpenSSH - apt install ssh)

I have managed to setup a test where 2 computers, I can ssh to the other computer and see the files/dirs in terminal.
(Notes - I connect using root - modify ssh config file, security is not a concern for this test/purpose.)

Code: Select all

ssh root@192.168.1.2

If I try running grsync in the terminal, I get errors.

Code: Select all

root@d630-intel:~# grsync

(grsync:15093): Gdk-WARNING **: 09:34:07.483: The GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS environment variable is not supported in GTK3.
See the documentation for gdk_window_ensure_native() on how to get native windows.
Unable to init server: Could not connect: Connection refused

(grsync:15093): Gtk-WARNING **: 09:34:07.485: cannot open display: 
root@d630-intel:~# 

So, I tried using Grsync (from menu), but each time the computer 'hang' when it started the copy and I had to power off/reboot.
I'm guessing that it does not have 'access' to the remote computer (unlike in terminal).
Source:

Code: Select all

192.168.1.2:/home/puppy/testdir or some_other_dir

Destination:

Code: Select all

/mnt/sda1/some-local-dir

Is it possible? Do I have to use OpenSSH?
Meanwhile I'll do more trial and error...

Last edited by dcung on Sat Nov 04, 2023 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
dcung
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 4:31 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Grsync over network

Post by dcung »

I successfully follow this

https://linuxize.com/post/how-to-transf ... -over-ssh/

But this is rsync...
I'm trying to be 'lazy' and select using GUI...

Trapster
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:44 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Grsync over network

Post by Trapster »

If you want GUI, why not use gftp or filezilla?

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 2663
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: holland
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 1050 times
Contact:

Re: Grsync over network

Post by fredx181 »

@dcung I tested grsync on Bullseye DDog (new build) and the GUI appears for me.
(if I understood well it doesn't for you ?)
Also when running from terminal I see no warnings about GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS environment, but lots of other warnings but that has to do with the custom Greybird theme that's not 100% GTK3 supported, didn't fix that yet by replacing with a full gtk3 compatible theme, but perhaps you use other theme that's not compatible with GTK3 (GTK2 theme) ? If so that may explain what you got. :?:

dcung
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 4:31 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Grsync over network

Post by dcung »

fredx181 wrote: Fri Nov 03, 2023 4:39 pm

@dcung I tested grsync on Bullseye DDog (new build) and the GUI appears for me.
(if I understood well it doesn't for you ?)
Also when running from terminal I see no warnings about GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS environment, but lots of other warnings but that has to do with the custom Greybird theme that's not 100% GTK3 supported, didn't fix that yet by replacing with a full gtk3 compatible theme, but perhaps you use other theme that's not compatible with GTK3 (GTK2 theme) ? If so that may explain what you got. :?:

Probably I didn't explained it clearly.

Grsync works well in Bullseye DDog - new or old build. I use it to backup to USB drives (locally).

It is only when I tried to backup over the network that it didn't work for me.
Not sure if you tried it over network ?

That GTK3 errors above was from a 'remote' terminal (root@d630-intel:~#) executed from local computer (root@d630-nvidia:~#).

So, if I executed Grsync in root@d630-nvidia:~# terminal (i.e. local terminal), it's okay. Which would be 'no different' to running it from menu.

Hence, running it from menu, the GUI appears..okay.
Until you supplied remote targets to operate with.

Hope this explains better.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 2663
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:49 pm
Location: holland
Has thanked: 294 times
Been thanked: 1050 times
Contact:

Re: Grsync over network

Post by fredx181 »

Ah, I see, misunderstood.
No, didn't try it over network.

dcung
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 4:31 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Problem using grsync over network - SOLVED

Post by dcung »

FYI - I ended up using samba instead of ssh.

I created a samba share on the remote, and mount it on local.

Afterward, I can use Grsync. i.e. select remote target thru GUI.

Post Reply

Return to “DebianDogs”