How to require a password to continue booting to desktop

Moderator: Forum moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 6420
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 766 times
Been thanked: 1327 times

How to require a password to continue booting to desktop

Post by bigpup »

Note:
if you have encrypted save files that require passwords.
At booting point of loading the save.
That is going to require the save file password, before boot up continues.
So, following is not needed.

Turn off autologin and require entering a password.
Boot to the point a password is required, to continue booting to the desktop.
Why do this?
Because you like to use passwords and do not want to autologin. :roll:

This is for booting on newer versions of Puppy.

First, make sure you have the boot menu option to boot, not using the save. (pfix=ram)
If it does not work.
You can boot, not using the save, and delete from the save, the bad file.

For some reason, to get it working, had to first change the root password.
in a terminal.

Code: Select all

passwd

change password and remember it.

Edit this file:
/bin/autologin
on line 7
Remove the -f after login
Line 7 now looks like this:

Code: Select all

exec login $LOGINUSER

It now boots to a point that you must enter the password for root.

If this does not work.
Boot not using the save.
Open the save and navigate to /bin/
Delete the autologin file.
Now the save will boot, using the original autologin.

On very old versions of Puppy. It is done a little differently.
Read note below before doing this.

Change the root password as already shown how.

Open this file in a text editor.
/etc/inittab

remove the autologin command

make the fisrt tty1 line look like the second tty2 line.
So tty1 and tty2 will be the same.

NOTE:
If you open the /etc/inittab file and it looks similar to this:

::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit
tty1::respawn:plogin
tty2::respawn:getty 38400 tty2
::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/reboot

You have the newer autologin, so use the first method, to turn off autologin.

Forum Global Moderator
The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

CaptGeorge
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 4:37 am
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Have to enter password to continue booting to desktop

Post by CaptGeorge »

This alternate worked!! Thanks, again. Now I just need to get xlock working. Maybe updated Puppy will help.

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 429
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:18 pm
Location: wales uk
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 146 times

Re: Have to enter password to continue booting to desktop

Post by 666philb »

CaptGeorge wrote: Thu Jun 17, 2021 4:04 pm

This alternate worked!! Thanks, again. Now I just need to get xlock working. Maybe updated Puppy will help.

hi @CaptGeorge
try deleting (these are hidden files so click the 'eye' symbol to show hidden files)

Code: Select all

/root/.xlockrc
/root/.config/Xlock/xlockrootparams
/root/.config/Xlock/xlockscreenparams

and then re-setup xlock

User avatar
bigpup
Moderator
Posts: 6420
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:19 pm
Location: Earth, South Eastern U.S.
Has thanked: 766 times
Been thanked: 1327 times

Re: Have to enter password to continue booting to desktop

Post by bigpup »

xlock will not work, until you get a password setup.
Left click on the desktop lock icon.
It asks to make a password.
Enter what you want to use and then press enter key.
It asks to do it again, to be sure it got it correct.
After the password is set, it should work.

Right click menu. has options. when you right click on. the desktop lock icon.

Forum Global Moderator
The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

CaptGeorge
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2021 4:37 am
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: How to require a password to continue booting to desktop

Post by CaptGeorge »

Hi Phil
Only /root/.xlockrc existed. I trashed it. And, re-setup Xlock and every thing is working. Thanks!

Mike3
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:26 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to require a password to continue booting to desktop

Post by Mike3 »

Ok, so I made changes as described and I did get the login thing when booting.

But it required both a;

1. Login &
2. Password

So I tried to write both root and Root as logins and used the password I changed to with: passwd command in the urxvt terminal emulator. It doesn't work I get the message: "Wrong login" or similar.

UPDATE: I tried it again and now it WORKS! just typed "root" as login...

Last edited by Mike3 on Thu Nov 25, 2021 12:15 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
mikewalsh
Moderator
Posts: 5672
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 1:40 pm
Location: King's Lynn, UK
Has thanked: 610 times
Been thanked: 1746 times

Re: How to require a password to continue booting to desktop

Post by mikewalsh »

Never understand why folks come to an OS with 'root' ownership & auto-login, and then want to set it all up to behave like a normal, mainstream distro......

Image

Mike. :roll:

Puppy "stuff" ~ MORE Puppy "stuff" ~ ....and MORE! :D
_______________________________________________________

Image

Mike3
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:26 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to require a password to continue booting to desktop

Post by Mike3 »

To not have anyone access your files easily by booting up your computer I suppose...

don570
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 4:43 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: How to require a password to continue booting to desktop

Post by don570 »

I'm not sure how recent puppies do the encryption however
older puppies would use shinobar's pupsaveconfig at the time of the first creation of pupsave file.

http://shino.pos.to/linux/pupsave.html

Note that there is a password option (if desired) however most people don't use it.

pupsaveconfig19d480.jpg
pupsaveconfig19d480.jpg (29.07 KiB) Viewed 1642 times

___________

Mike3
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:26 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to require a password to continue booting to desktop

Post by Mike3 »

What does this encrypt choice encrypt?

All the files in root?

What's the point of encryption if one doesn't use a password? Can't anyone logged into the computer see the files then anyways?

Will the encryption make things slower i.e. to open up an encrypted file?

If I choose a password for the encryption, when do I have to enter it? Do I have to do it whenever opening an encrypted file?

williams2
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2020 5:45 pm
Been thanked: 291 times

Re: How to require a password to continue booting to desktop

Post by williams2 »

If you have a save file, then the save file is accessed as a block device.
LUKS encryption encrypts the entire block device.
Whatever is in the block device (journals, file systems, files contained in file systems, ...) is encrypted.
That is, all the blocks in the block device are encrypted.

You can choose to encrypt the save file when it is created.
The save file is created when you shut down the first time.

The attachment enc1.jpg is no longer available
enc1.jpg
enc1.jpg (60.36 KiB) Viewed 938 times

All the files in root?

Files are not encrypted.
The blocks of the block device are encrypted. Typically, a block consists of 4k bytes of data.
A byte is 8 bits. A bit is a 1 or a zero (binary digit.)
All the blocks are encrypted. Blocks contain the boot record, journals, all of the file systems in the block device, file names, inodes, the data in the inodes, the files and dirs in the file system.

What's the point of encryption if one doesn't use a password?

Puppy always asks for a password when creating an encrypted save file.
Puppy always asks for a password when booting Puppy, if the save file is encrypted.

Will the encryption make things slower i.e. to open up an encrypted file?

Encryption is slower, but you probably won't notice it, unless you have a very slow computer.

password for the encryption, when do I have to enter it? Do I have to do it whenever opening an encrypted file?

You enter the password once, everytime Puppy boots. before X starts.
Individual files are not encrypted. It's the entire block device that is encrypted.

Post Reply

Return to “Boot”