Video Editor LIVES

Moderator: Forum moderators

April

Video Editor LIVES

Post by April »

I have been trying to get the excellent video editing program "Lives" to run properly in xenialpup64-7.5

The video s fine .I cannot get any sound out . It defaults to "sox" I think but that doesn't work .
I d/l pulse ...but cant get the server to even start and the same with jack .

Seems something needed is missing in xenial and I am not experienced in Audio to fix it..

If anyone has it running with audio please let me know how you did it .

I'd really like to use it to clean up my saved clips.

The Australian State Governments have all enacted laws to steal your assets on your death. All legal paperwork is binned and all assets seized on one disgruntled child's complaint.Move them well before you die or go into a home.

puddlemoon

Re: Video Editor LIVES

Post by puddlemoon »

Well, I had tried lives a year or so ago and had a bad experience. I just tried it again and remembered why...
I use jack daily and am familiar with the awkwardness it can present.
So I installed it on fossapup and I had no luck getting any sound... it didn't want jack to be running already but didn't successfully start it either... I used qjackctl to start and stop jack and to make connection but it never presented ports to connect to...
Sox also produced no sound. Tried with different sound cards. and I was not about to install pulse audio to test...

Certainly it could be made to work but I do find it a rather unpleasant program, so I will be uninstalling now...

So yeah, not just your setup. sorry I couldn't offer a solution.

taersh

Post by taersh »

Use Kdenlive instead. It's the best GNU/Linux video editor and I think there's a version in Quickpet for Xenial.

My Music:
https://soundcloud.com/user-633698367
Using my own build of Bionic64
The far-left is as fascist as the far-right is!

wiak

Post by wiak »