Puzzling bug booting EasyOS from USB stick

Moderator: BarryK

CF-DKS

Puzzling bug booting EasyOS from USB stick

Post by CF-DKS »

I have been encountering this with more than one version of Easy. On two desktop computers when I boot a previously configured version of Easy from USB it sometimes acts as if it is a first time boot, asks for keyboard preference, then drops into an error message saying it can't find the OS. If I turn off the power (by pulling the plug, the computer will not shut down from the power switch) and reboot (sometimes several times) it will eventually boot normally. This does not occur on my two laptop computers, only on the desktops. I have been running Easy Dunfell reliably for a couple of years on my primary desktop, and recently Easy Kirkstone reliably on another. I encountered this bug while trying to set up another USB stick with Easy for a friend. I tried more than one version on different USB sticks with the same results. Thoughts?

Caramel

Re: Puzzling bug

Post by Caramel »

CF-DKS wrote: Wed Mar 20, 2024 1:14 pm

I have been encountering this with more than one version of Easy. On two desktop computers when I boot a previously configured version of Easy from USB it sometimes acts as if it is a first time boot, asks for keyboard preference, then drops into an error message saying it can't find the OS. If I turn off the power (by pulling the plug, the computer will not shut down from the power switch) and reboot (sometimes several times) it will eventually boot normally. This does not occur on my two laptop computers, only on the desktops. I have been running Easy Dunfell reliably for a couple of years on my primary desktop, and recently Easy Kirkstone reliably on another. I encountered this bug while trying to set up another USB stick with Easy for a friend. I tried more than one version on different USB sticks with the same results. Thoughts?