BookwormPup64 10.0.5 Connection Manager Problem

Moderator: Forum moderators

JusGellin

BookwormPup64 10.0.5 Connection Manager Problem

Post by JusGellin »

Since I'm just a beginner I decided to ask help from here. I hope I can explain this well enough.
Is there a utility called "Connection Manager" that sets up the name server For BookwormPup64?

I was trying to make a virtual machine guest for version 10.0.5 but found that it couldn't access the internet because of name resolution problems - it could ping by ip but not by name. For example it could ping 8.8.8.8 but not ping google.com. This didn't work even when the iso started up for the installation. I could just bring up the installation and it would fail the same way. So I tried version 10.0.4 which would work ok. Researching this, I found that at /etc/resolv.conf there wasn't any entry like it should for 10.0.5. But for version 10.0.4 it had

Generated by Connection Manager
nameserver 192.168.122.1

How is this made permanent? If I put this in version 10.0.5, it works but it is gone for the next boot.

The strange thing about this is when I try this on another laptop, it doesn't have this problem. So it probably doesn't fail everywhere.
Thanks

Marv

Re: BookwormPup64 10.0.5 Connection Manager Problem

Post by Marv »

I am also seeing this on 10.0.5 and did not see it on 10.0.4. My hardware is: Fujitsu S761, 2nd gen i5 all intel laptop, circa 2012.

If I then restart connman (/etc/init.d/connman restart), resolve.conf is populated normally. I think that it may be a timing issue and that connmand isn't waiting quite long enough for the system to settle before getting the nameserver info from my router. I just put an executable connman_restart script calling /etc/init.d/connman restart in my /root/Startup directory to patch it for now. Tested the stock kernel, 6.6.17, and 6.7.5 and it is kernel invariant. Relevant dmesg content below :

Connmann connects normally on boot, the relevant dmesg is: