Vivaldi browser and other applications

Moderator: BarryK

szept

Vivaldi browser and other applications

Post by szept »

Ok guys, so I'm very, very starting - just turned my USB into EasyOS (Dunfell 4.5.3) drive. I've started using Linux probably around 20 years ago, but just from time to time - I'm not an expert, just a casual Linux user, but recently I only used Puppy (I switched from Lubuntu few months ago). Few days ago I've found out about EasyOS, so I thought I'll give it a go, because I had to format my Puppy USB into EXT3 anyway (I've been told, on this forum, that the use of FAT partition is very limited - I couldn't expand the size of SAVE, Appimages didn't work directly from USB and SFS wouldn't load on start). So here I am. The first thing I've noticed - the WiFi setup is not over (a bit) complicated as it was in Puppy - it's straightforward on Windows, Ubuntu, Lubuntu and Antix, but on FossaPup64 9.5 f.e. you have to know where to type the password as there are 3 boxes IIRC. Well, tomorrow I'll check how it will be for cable connection as I had to do few more steps on Puppy to get on-line (again, all the others I mentioned previously connected automatically, while with Puppy I had to do some clicks - I admit it wasn't too complicated, but I'm curious how will that go).

Anyway, going back to the topic! The very first installation I do on fresh Windows and Linux is Vivaldi browser. On Puppy I downloaded a DEB package from official website (the "get Vivaldi" from Puppy app menu didn't work) and the installation was straightforward, but it didn't work here. I mean there was a "successful installation" notice, but it won't run where I click on the Vivaldi icon in the "internet" menu. Also, it won't show up in the "Default App Chooser". How to make it work?