How to set up a SAMBA share, EasyOS to Android LG phone? (Solved, used Bluetooth to iMac)

Moderator: BarryK

Les Kerf

How to set up a SAMBA share, EasyOS to Android LG phone? (Solved, used Bluetooth to iMac)

Post by Les Kerf »

Am trying to set up Samba share with an Android LG phone Model VS501, the phone is about five years old; I used to be able to connect it to my laptop running Slacko 5.7 via USB cable to download pictures using CamPhoneTab but I am thinking there is a hardware issue since this no longer works. I have tried several different cables. I just now got EasyOs running, it will not connect via USB either, and I did change the settings to Developer mode as per the EasyOS instructions. We are intending to buy a new phone soon, hence the desire to salvage the photos.

Trouble is, I am basically a noob and have never used Samba on anything before.

I have clicked up the Samba setup GUI which looks very nice, but I am such a dummy I have no clue what to do next; It would seem as though I should do something on the phone to initiate the connection, but I don't know enough to even know where to look.

Any help will be greatly appreciated :thumbup:

Last edited by Les Kerf on Sat Apr 01, 2023 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Les Kerf

Re: SAMBA share to Android

Post by Les Kerf »

I forgot to add that the android phone is also used as a hotspot and is our only internet connection so the phone and the laptop are on the same LAN if that is the correct term.

Clarity

Post by Clarity »

Have you seen this?

Post any issue there, if you have any in attempting to follow those instructions.

Clarity

Post by Clarity »

P,S, Since you are using your phone simultaneously as a both a cell device and a wireless LAN device there may be an issue when the HOTSPOT is active.

...not sure. Test those instructions, first with HOTSPOT off, then with HOTSPOT on to insure you know how your network works.

Those instructions do work and have decades of use.

spiritwild