Headless Setup

Moderator: BarryK

PeterE

Headless Setup

Post by PeterE »

Hi
Is it possible to run EasyOS with a headless setup. I am new to linux. I tried installing the Debian version of TeamViewer. It added it to the menu but doesn't seem to work. Is there any othersoftware which is easy to install which would allow me to run the system headless?
Thanks

rockedge
Site Admin

Re: Headless Setup

Post by rockedge »

I use Dropbear and SSH into remote sessions using pUTTY that I forward X11 from allowing me to run the headless system in a graphical mode from another machine.

@mikewalsh knows more about packages for running remote machines in a graphical environment. He might be able to steer you into more useful information

Clarity

Post by Clarity »

Best Open source solution that I am aware of is XRDP. But I have NO CLUE how to get any audio via the connection although the video is outstanding. It is written about and works in other distros but this one is a problem.

So a complete multimedia desktop connection solution, here, is not currently possible.

rockedge
Site Admin

Post by rockedge »

So a complete multimedia desktop connection solution, here, is not currently possible.

I run Audacity once in awhile from a remote machine but keep in mind that all of the audio input is connected to the remote machine. I can run a browser from the remote machine and play YouTube videos locally though.

don570

Post by don570 »

A good choice is fatdog linux because the x11vnc server can be easy installed.
Here are the instructions for fatdogarm but an X86 computer will be a similar method.
https://oldforum.puppylinux.com/viewtop ... 68#p983568

Fatdog linux uses dropbear rather than ssh but it uses the same commands.
dropbear has to be turned on by the control panel.

mikewalsh

Post by mikewalsh »

@PeterE :- Hallo.....and :welcome: to the "kennels".

rockedge wrote: Tue Aug 02, 2022 3:46 pm