Futureproofing BionicPup

Moderator: Forum moderators

r96chase

Futureproofing BionicPup

Post by r96chase »

Hey guys. It's been awhile.

So, I was making music today and I just had this thought about how we can make futureproof certain Puppies (especially BionicPup) so they last past their supposed EoL date. I bet this has already been done, but has anyone made some more dedicated repos for PPM? Especially those that perserve Bionic Beaver packages? Because I don't know how to make a repo myself. Sorry in advance. :oops:

I am a crash-course Linux novice. :lol:

GMBudwrench

Re: Futureproofing BionicPup

Post by GMBudwrench »

I’d like to see Bionic supported long term as well. There’s this:

viewtopic.php?t=1170

HP G71 Wins10 64 bit, 2.2ghz 320gb hdd, Bionicpup64 on a WD 500gb portable HDD.

bigpup

Post by bigpup »

In Puppy Linux there is really no term of life.

As long as the Puppy version works for you.
Use it.

In Puppy, when things have changed , software improved, newer versions of stuff is needed to run software, new programs develop, etc......

Someone usually just builds a new version of Puppy, with all of the latest stuff, in it.

Forum Global Moderator
The things you do not tell us, are usually the clue to fixing the problem.
When I was a kid, I wanted to be older.
This is not what I expected :o

mikewalsh

Post by mikewalsh »

GMBudwrench wrote: Mon Aug 09, 2021 11:18 am

I’d like to see Bionic supported long term as well. There’s this:

viewtopic.php?t=1170

Mmm.....kinda depends on what your definition of "long-term" IS. Bionic Beaver IS an LTS release in any case, and won't be hitting EOL until at least April 2023 (another 20 months).